top of page

Who is Subject to FMCSA’s Safety Regulations?

You are subject to FMCSA regulations if you operate any of the following types of commercial motor vehicles in interstate commerce:

- A vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating (whichever is greater) of 4,537 kg (10,001 lbs.) or more (GVWR, GCWR, GVW or GCW)

- A vehicle designed or used to transport between 9 and 15 passengers (including the driver) for compensation, whether direct or indirect

- A vehicle designed or used to transport 15 or more passengers including the driver and not used for compensation

- Any size vehicle used in the transportation of materials found to be hazardous for the purposes of the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act (49 U.S.C. 5101 et seq.) and which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations (49 CFR Parts 100-177). This includes INTRASTATE Hazardous Materials carriers.

If you meet the above criteria, you must comply with the applicable U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) safety regulations concerning:

1) Controlled substances and alcohol testing for all persons required to possess a CDL

2) Driver qualifications (including medical exams)

3) Driving of commercial motor vehicles; parts and accessories necessary for safe operations

4) Hours of service

5) Inspection, repair and maintenance.

In other words, if you are involved in interstate commerce and operate a 10,001+ lbs equipment, you need a CDL, a medical Card, Drug Tests, Log Book and Safe Equipment.

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page